Ga Ga for Garbanzos

It’s chickpea week here on the blog. I’ve decided to start doing themed weeks to make my planning life easier and to see how different the same ingredient can taste. I have four chickpea recipes to share this week PLUS a healthy dose of Lady Gaga.

Monday night’s dinner was super simple and taken from one of my favorite blogs, stonesoup. Jules is a fabulous writer and puts together fantastic minimalist recipes. Definitely check out your blog if you haven’t been there already.

Warm Chickpea Salad


Ingredients:

  • 1 can garbanzo beans, or 2 cups fresh cooked
  • 1 clove garlic, sliced thin
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 stalk rosemary, leaves separated
  • Pinch chili flakes
  • Handful of almonds, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Add olive oil to frying pan and heat over medium high heat. When oil is hot, add garlic, rosemary, chili and almonds.

Stir fry until garlic is just starting to brown – it took mine about 4 minutes. Toss in garbanzos and stir fry until warmed through. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I served the chickpeas over some salad greens but next time I think I would just have a side salad. I am really not a huge fan of beans in my greens – it seems like I can never get a bite with beans AND lettuce.

Alex and I both enjoyed this dish.

It was simple, comforting, and delicious! The leftovers were great today as well, even at room temperature  (sans salad greens).

PS Does anyone else hate these part of mixed greens?

I REALLY hate this stuff.

Also served with this meal was 101 Cookbooks Six-seed Soda Bread – check out the link for the recipe.

Awesome bread! I love love love it! It’s so seedy and delicious. (So many bad jokes going through my head).

On that note, here’s Gaga for you!

EDIT:

I was going to post a Lady Gaga video but apparently it’s not working. Bummer! You’ll just have to imagine me running around my house singing and dancing a la Gaga.

2 responses to “Ga Ga for Garbanzos

  1. I’m with ya on those crazy trees they try to pass off as lettuce. It seems like they totally take over your salad!

  2. Chick peas are the best things in the world.

Leave a comment