Better late than never

So I have been a bad blogger and haven’t written about last weekend yet! Not last weekend as in yesterday, but last as in over a week ago now. I did some fun food stuff so I wanted to share.

My parents came into town and we went to a Giants game! I hadn’t been to a baseball game in years so I was really excited. And it was Alex’s first game ever, so he was pretty happy too. I used to go every summer with my dad when I was a kid, so it was really great to revive the tradition. Even my mom, who is NOT a baseball fan (and let me be honest when I say it was the first baseball game I’d watched all season so I don’t know that I qualify as a “fan” either) had a good time and was cheering and waving her rally rag. Unfortunately, the  Giants lost but it was still a great time!

When they arrived, we took them to Tartine, an AWESOME French bakery in our neighborhood:

I got a slice of pumpkin spice bread, Alex got a scone, my mom got quiche and my dad got a morning bun. There’s also some coffee in the mix for Alex.

Alex before coffee.

Alex after coffee!

After breakfast and chatting,  we picked up some sandwiches at Ike’s Place (no pictures of that, but it’s fantastic!) and headed to the game.

Yay first baseball games!

After the game, we headed home and I made dinner for my parents. (Doesn’t it seem like all we do is eat?) I  love making dinner for my parents because they have cooked and taken care of me for so long! And sometimes, they still do! I love to treat them to what they deserve!

I had bought beets earlier in the week for a recipe that was never made and I had TWO bunches of chard that needed to be used so I did some online searching and made this fabulous recipe.

Swiss Chard with Beets, Goat Cheese, and Raisins
adapted from Epicurious
  • 4 medium beets
  • 2 bunches Swiss chard + beet greens if you have them
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large red onion, halved lengthwise, cut thinly crosswise
  • 3/4 cup sliced green onions (about 3)
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 jalapeño chiles, thinly sliced crosswise with seeds
  • 1 29 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons golden raisins
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1 51/2-ounce log soft fresh goat cheese, crumbled
  • 2 tablespoons almonds

The beets need to be roasted and peeled. I did this in the morning and before we left for the game. Preheat the oven 400°F. Place beets in baking dish and add half a cup of water. Cover with foil. Roast for 1 – 1.5 hours.

Fold Swiss chard leaves in half lengthwise and cut stalks away from leaves. Chop leaves coarsley. Cut stalks into one inch pieces. Slice stalks in half lengthwise if they are thick. Separate leaves and stalks.  Cook chopped leaves in large pot of boiling salted water until just tender, about 1 minute. Drain and set aside.

Heat oil in large pot over high heat. Add stalks and sauté about 8 minutes, until soft.

Add onion, green onions, garlic and jalapenos and sauté 3 minutes. Add drained tomatoes and 1 cup raisins. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until vegetables are soft, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

Add chard leaves to pot and stir to heat through. Remove from heat; add lime juice and stir. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Mix in beets.

Serve over whole wheat pasta. Top with goat cheese and almonds.

This is a very unattractive photo of the final, very delicious, product:

This was actually my dad’s second helping, so that’s why it looks a little less pretty. 😀

It’s an interesting mix of flavors and tasted even better the next day!

This past weekend we went to San Luis Obispo where we went to school and ate our way through the weekend with good friends. Look for that post tomorrow!

Until next time!


One response to “Better late than never

  1. Oh wow, that beet concoction looks amazing. Anything with beets and goat is goat cheese is good in my book!

Leave a Reply

