How many times can I say tahini?

The next recipe called for chickpeas and tahini, but it wasn’t hummus! It was Angela’s warm chickpea salad with tahini and tomato dressing.

It was good, better leftover today. But not my favorite – and here’s why: I discovered I don’t like tahini. I just don’t like the taste of it. I’ve made hummus with it and no matter how little tahini I put in, I can immediately detect it. And that’s the point! Hummus is supposed to have that tahini taste – I just don’t like it. I’ve found that most of the commercial hummus I buy doesn’t actually have tahini in it. I’m going to try making hummus without next time – maybe that’ll make it less pasty?!

Anyway, back to the recipe, which, like I said, was good but not great for me. If you like tahini, you’ll probably love it!

Ingredients:

For salad:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 medium garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 pinches of Sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 2 cups chickpeas, warmed
  • 1/2 of a medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh parsley

For tahini dressing:

  • 2 medium garlic clove, finely minced with a pinch of salt
  • Juice of one large lemon
  • 3 tablespoons well-stirred tahini
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1.5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 can diced canned tomatoes
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • Sea salt, to taste

Method:

Preheat the oven to 425°F. In a large bowl, toss butternut squash with garlic, allspice, olive oil, and salt until evenly coated. Roast them on a baking sheet for 35–40 minutes.

To make dressing: whisk garlic and lemon juice. Add tahini, tomatoes and whisk. Add water and olive oil, whisk and season with salt and pepper to taste.

To put it all together, mix squash, chickpeas, red onion, and parsley (if using) in a mixing bowl. Add the tahini dressing to taste, and toss gently.

Here it is with a side salad and a slice of soda bread. The soda bread is so good toasted! I can’t get over it.

I actually liked the salad much better today once the tahini flavor had mellowed out.

Of course, I loved the squash and it just made me want to eat butternut squash every day. Perhaps next week butternut squash will be the secret ingredient (sorta like Iron Chef!)

Tomorrow I’ll post about chickpea tagine which is one of my favorite dishes of all time!

Until next time!

One response to “How many times can I say tahini?

  1. I hate tahini too! Let me know if you find a good recipe without it for hummus.

Leave a Reply

