Happy ThanksLiving!

Stole the wonderful title from Queer Vegan Runner.

Today, I am thankful for….

….my wonderful, chaotic, crazy, awesome family.

…Alex, my incredible partner who has supported me this year through everything and is supporting me over my adventures in the next year.

…my amazing, inspiring friends who have taught me more than I ever thought I could learn and continue showing me new and better ways to look at the world.

…the ability to walk outside safely, as a woman, but also just as a citizen.

…having the opportunity to live in San Francisco and explore the culinary delights and culture.

…my body and my health, which allows me to do all the things I want to do.

…Google Reader, which has changed my blog reading life.

…tea, which warms my insides.

…the cats, whose support is unwavering.

…getting to watch my nieces and nephews grow up.

…all the places I haven’t been that I get to explore.

…the incredible books I’ve read and those that I look forward to reading.

This list could go on forever, but these are some of my favorites.

My dad shared a story at dinner tonight about being thankful for all the good things, but also the problems in your life. He apparently had a very wise friend back in the day and when he would call to complain, “I got into a fender bender today,” the friend would say “Be thankful you have a car.” “My boss did something ridiculous today,” the response was “be thankful you have a job.” “My family is really aggravating me,” the response is “be thankful you have people that care about you.”

I think this is a great example at the way to look at life. All of my family shared great reasons they were thankful today and what their goals are for 2010. I don’t think I could ask for a better family.

And to my family of friends that are out and about celebrating today, I love all of you and am thankful for you.

To everyone that reads this blog that I haven’t met – you have changed my life. Your comments always make me smile.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

