Fall-ing Behind

The weather is getting cooler, and I’ve been wanting to chill as well. Maybe it’s the fact that our social calendar is quite full, meaning getting to bed late and not making morning workouts. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s cold outside and I’d rather be sipping tea. In general, my energy level hast just been a bit low. According to ayurveda, energy levels tend to be lower in fall and winter, so perhaps I’m just where I’m supposed to be. Scott Blossom, a California-based Certified Yoga Therapist and Doctor of Oriental Medicine, recommends fall as a time to rest more, create a routine and eat warming foods. I know I’ve been doing that with all my oatmeal and lentils.

But maybe this is why I’m feeling slower and more fatigued; in fall the “vata” dosha is provoked. This means everything is dry and perhaps agitated. I’ve definitely noticed my skin is drier and my anxiety is more intense. To keep vata in check, there are some recommendations for diet and lifestyle:

  • Eat at regular times
  • Avoid cold drinks or foods including raw vegetables
  • Minimize caffeine intake
  • Stay warm with layers
  • Get enough sleep
  • Eliminate stressful situations
  • Avoid intense exercise
  • Perform self massage with sesame oil
  • Carve out time for rest and relaxation
  • Play soothing music

As you can see, intense exercise is on the “avoid” list. So maybe that’s why I’ve been feeling compelled to walk and enjoy the crisp air but not go on any crazy runs or hit the gym for my normal weight routine.

I don’t want to confuse taking care of myself and laziness. Part of the problem is that I haven’t carved out any time for rest and relaxation recently, and won’t have anytime in the upcoming week or two. I need to learn to balance my schedule and add in “me” time and “we time” with Alex.

Perhaps if I wasn’t running around all the time, I would actually feel like going running.

Or perhaps I’ll just walk and hike the hills of SF this autumn and winter, and see what new things I find by slowing down.

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

