Chickpea Fail

And photo fail.

Last night I made falafel, pita, hummus, and tzatziki from scratch. And a semi-Greek salad. I was cooking for new people and I decided to risk it. WELL. Let’s just say that things didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped, but they weren’t terrible either.

I have no photos because I was running around like a mad woman trying to get things done. But let’s discuss each component a bit.

Falafel – Total fail. Dry and crumbly. Baked instead of fried which, frankly, I think was a bad idea. I’ve made fried before and they were delicious. These were not. It could also be because I doubled the recipe which I have not done with much success. The flavors were good though.

Pita – Semi fail. Great flavor but the dough didn’t rise much so they were pretty dense. Not sure what I’m doing wrong with this bread making business (I tried to make rolls last year and they didn’t rise either). But everyone loved the flavor.

Hummus – BEST HUMMUS EVER! I was so pleased with the recipe. And you know what? It had tahini in it! Just a little though. My old recipe called for 1/3 of a cup of tahini which was too much for me. This had about a tablespoon and it was the perfect flavor.

Tzatziki – This was great. I was pleased. Cool and tangy, it saved the super dry falafel.

Salad – Delish. Romaine, tomato, feta and dressing of olive oil, balsamic and oregano. Simple and tasty.

And then for dessert, a friend brought chocolate covered oreos and chocolate covered strawberries. I had one of each of course!

Overall, I was pretty pleased – everyone at all of their food so it couldn’t have been bad! I want to work on making a better falafel next time – and it will probably be fried (healthy living is all about balance, remember!)

And just for fun, here are some cat photos:

This is while I was napping on the couch. We all like to nap together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

