A Taste of Morrocco

Good morning! I stayed up way too late last night – until almost 1 am! Despite that, it seems I can’t sleep past 6 or 6:30 am regardless of how late I stay up. But we had good friends over last night for some food, drinks, and Office/30 Rock, so it was worth it.

So here I am, before 7 am, watching Project Runway and sharing deliciousness. Perfect start to a Friday morning if you ask me.

So on Wednesday night, I made an old favorite – Chickpea Tagine, adapted from Vegetarian Times. This recipe is from a time before I had any cookbooks and I only made recipes from the Vegetarian Times website. Now I have such a variety of blogs and cookbooks that I hardly ever use Vegetarian Times anymore.

One thing I noticed while I was making this recipe is that I haven’t changed it very much over the years. This is potentially good – it means the recipe testers at VT are good. But it also means I haven’t experimented very much. So I’m challenging myself from now on to try a little harder to add my own flair to my cooking. That’s the only way to learn.

This recipe is super easy, tasty, and perfect for fall. Warm and comforting and just a little bit sweet.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 14.5-oz. cans chickpeas or 4 cups of fresh cooked, rinsed and drained
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced into thin rounds
  • ¼ cup dried currants
  • 1 tsp. ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • ¼ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp. honey
  • ½ cup plain Greek-style yogurt

Method:

Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Sauté onion and garlic for 3-5 minutes until onion is soft.

Stir in chickpeas, carrots, currants, spices, honey and 2 cups of water.

Cover and simmer 20 to 25 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Garnish with a scoop of greek yogurt and chopped parsely if desired. I used paprika instead.

You can serve this over couscous if you’d like, although we normally just eat it straight.

Or pair with a classic Morroccan beer, like Pacifico. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

