Bridge to Bridge 12k

Hello!

On Sunday Alex and I ran the San Francisco Bridge to Bridge run. It goes from the Ferry Building on the Embarcadero, up to Fort Point and back down to Crissy Field.

Here we are before:

Alex is not a morning person! Although this run started late, at 9 am! I am used to races starting at 8 am.

You can see that the weather isn’t great. When we woke up around 6:30 am it was raining! Of course it doesn’t rain all week and the one day we are supposed to run, it’s raining. But thankfully it stopped before the race started. I wouldn’t have minded running in the rain if we had trained for it, but I was happy that it didn’t cause we hadn’t!

So Alex and I ran together for the most part, which may or may not have been a good idea. The first three miles flew by because we started out pretty fast (I have no way to track pace, but it FELT fast). I have to admit, the rest of the race was pretty painful. Alex claims that he had trouble keeping up with me for a while, so maybe I should have slowed the pace down after the three mile mark so that I could have finished strong.

The last 2.4 miles were pretty rough. I kept repeating Angela’s mantra “You’re so much stronger than you think” to get through them. The last half mile was only a gentle uphill but I thought I was going to throw up!

But I pulled through and made it!And so did Alex! And we managed to look pretty happy afterward:

Despite not feeling my best, I finished only 30 seconds or so behind Alex at 1:05:30 which I was super happy with! That’s an 8:47/mile pace and considering it was the longest I had ever run, I was pretty pumped.

I have to say though, for both of my 10ks, I had runner’s high all day long. That did not happen yesterday – I did not feel good for most of the day, mentally or physically. I think I just hit it too hard and then ate too much immediately following the race.

But we went to brunch with some friends, had crepes and then walked 2 miles back to our place. I am not too sore today so I’m happy.

Next time, I’ll make sure to start off slower, or train at a faster pace. I have a hard time pushing myself on training runs. I should probably start incorporating some speed workouts if I really want to get faster.

I can’t wait for the next race! I’m even maybe sort of thinking about a half marathon in the nearish future! We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

