Power up!

So as you know, I mentioned that we are racing tomorrow.

We are running the Bridge to Bridge run in SF. It will be the first time that Alex and I are running the same race so hopefully there’s only friendly competition. 😉

Alex used to run cross country, so he has a leg up on me when it comes to running. But I can hold my own now that I run regularly and race. I’m also running with my beautiful friend Chelsea and we’ve been training together for awhile. Some other friends are running as well and maybe I’ll make some new ones, who knows!

It’s also the longest race I’ve ever run and will be the longest I’ve ever run in my life – 7.4 miles. I’m not too worried as I’ve run 6.5 and felt really strong and on race day I always have adreneline. I am really pumped and even maybe sort of kind of don’t want to commit yet but thinking about running a half marathon sometime in the nearish future. We’ll see. 😀

Anyway, in order to sustain ourselves before, after, and during the run, I made some healthy snacks. I call these power balls because I shape them into balls, but they are pretty much home made Lara Bars. You can find these variations and tons more in the Healthy Snacks To Go E-Book. It’s a really great resource for those times where you open your cabinet and realize that because you don’t eat junk food, you have no snacks!

The best part is they are SO easy to make:

Process nuts into a fine meal.

Add dates/raisins and process until sticky.

Stream in spices or other mix-ins.

Make into balls and eat!

Here are the flavors I made:

Cinnamix

  • Grind: 1/3 c. almonds, ¼ c. cashews
  • Add: ½ c. dates, ¼ c. raisins
  • Stream in: ½ tsp.+ ground cinnamon

Coco-shew

  • Grind: 1/3 c. cashews
  • Add: ½ c. raisins, ¼ c. coconut
  • Stream in: ½ tsp. vanilla

Gingersnap

  • Grind: 1/3 c. almonds, ¼ c. pecans
  • Add: ¾ c. dates
  • Stream in: ½ tsp. ginger + ¼ tsp. cinnamon + ¼ tsp. cloves

The Cinnamix ones are my favorite. These are nutritious and if you eat a few, you’ll definitely feel full. I’m hoping to bring some to eat after and maybe during the race tomorrow.

If you’re in San Francisco and you’re bored, come cheer on the runners. It should be a good time!

4 responses to “Power up!

  1. i will totally be in SF tomorrow – if i see runners i’ll give a cheer for you!

  2. Good luck, I’m sure you’ll do great! 7.4 miles seems like a fun distance!

Leave a Reply

