Perfect dinner party

I really love early mornings. I was recently having a conversation with someone and they said “I’m not a morning person, but when I do have to wake up early, I’m always so excited to see the world before it wakes up.” That is what I love about early morning – getting to see the world stretch and yawn and stumble out of sleep. Of course, I’m always fascinated when I stay up late enough to see the world go to bed. The grass is always greener!

So on Thursday I had a group of friends over to have dinner and watch The Office and 30 Rock. It’s somewhat of a tradition in our group of friends to get together on Thursday nights for this. Now, I’m still not used to being a blogger, so I’ve been terrible at remembering to take photos. And somehow, whenever I do take out the camera, this happens:

The cats are endlessly entertaining subjects for me.

But back to the dinner party. I did manage to take one shot:

And you can’t see it, but I took the photo because as pretty as it looks (and I think it looks pretty good!) all of the silverware is different. We have no full set of silverware, and the partial sets we have are only for 4 people anyway. Alex and I make it a goal to use a different fork for each setting. By the time we got to dessert, I was using a plastic fork. And apparently, we only have 7 butter knives.

I used to be embarrassed about things like this – especially because some of our other friends have such beautiful homes and housewares. But then I realized that no one is paying attention to the silverware, that’s not why they come over to my house. And if someone were to judge me for having a blue handeled fork and a silver knife from Target at their setting, perhaps those are not the people I want to have over anyway.

So I got over my embarrassment and focused on the food, which turned out excellently.

I didn’t make a recipe – rather, we had a baked potato bar! It’s a super easy and fun way to host people for food. All you have to do is pick up the fixings and bake the potatoes and you’re done. I also had a friend bring a green salad so it wasn’t all starch on the plate. 🙂

For toppings we had:

  • Cheddar cheese
  • Green onions
  • Sour cream
  • Butter
  • Chili
  • Jalepenos
  • Chili Powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper

See? Most of these things you could have at home already! Everyone was delighted and satisfied.

I also baked a peach crisp since we still had a million leftover peaches and it actually turned out well! To be fair, crisps are incredibly easy to make so I don’t count this as part of my baking skills, but still.

The recipe was adapted from comment #23 on this post of Kath Eats.

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • 2 lbs of peaches
  • 1/4 cup sucanat
  • 2 tbsp flour

Topping:

  • 3/4c. rolled oats
  • 3/4c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup sucanat
  • 1t. cinnamon
  • 1/4t. salt
  • 1/3c. butter melted (I used Earth Balance and it was fine)
  • 1/2 c. non-fat vanilla yogurt

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut fruit into 1″ pieces and put in medium bowl. Toss with sugar and flour. Spread in 8″ baking dish.

Mix dry ingredients for topping in a medium bowl. Add melted butter/Earth Balance and stir. Add yogurt and stir until dough forms. Spread dough evenly across fruit.

Bake 20-25 minutes until golden.

Serve with ice cream or whip or frozen yogurt!

Everyone seemed to like it, so I was pretty happy. Add one to the successful baking column for me! Again, me = terrible, new blogger so I have absolutely no photos. I was kicking myself afterward!

On to enjoy the morning!

Leave a Reply

