Fall has finally arrived!

The temperature has finally dropped, I saw a bunch of leaves on the ground, and squash has invaded the grocery store. I believe fall has arrived.

Let me start out by saying I am not a pumpkin pie person. The texture is slimy and the pumpkin taste overwhelming. I will not even eat pumpkin pie to be polite, and that’s saying something.

I do, however, love pumpkin baked goods. Bread, cupcakes, muffins, cookies – all delicious when infused with pumpkin. I attempted to bake some pumpkin cookies earlier this week. They failed. (Remember how I said I’m not a baker?) I might try again tomorrow on my day off in the hopes of creating something amazing. It’s my goal to surprise myself one day and pull something out of the oven that is awesome and delicious.

(For the record, I make an awesome soda bread and a really delicious gluten free carrot cake. So far, nothing else has worked out. :D)

Anyway, back to pumpkin which is the original purpose of this post. When I saw pumpkin all over the blogs, I gave in and went and bought a can of pumpkin. After the cookie disaster, I had to use it. So I’ve been making pumpkin overnight oats and HOLY CRAP. I could eat these every day. Freaking delicious.

I dream of these oats. I’m out of pumpkin now so I’m going to have to wait until I’m back at the store this weekend to to pick up some more. And then I can have my dreamy breakfast all week next week.

Pumpkin Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice or both!
  • Mix ins: drizzle of maple syrup, raisins, walnuts

Combine oats, banana, chia, almond milk, pumpkin and cinnamon in a bowl. Refrigerate overnight. Top with mixins of choice and devour.

For a girl who doesn’t like pumpkin pie because it’s slimy, I’m thrilled to say I love these oats. And overnight oats are kind of slimy themselves (don’t let that deter you, but it IS sort of an acquired taste).

Leave a Reply

