Mediterranean Lentil Salad

Last night I made the Mediterranean Lentil Salad from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home.

It was light yet filling, and the leftovers were great in a tortilla with hummus today.

Ingredients:


  • 1 cup brown or green lentils
  • 4 cups water
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1/3 cup sun-dried tomatoes not packed in oil
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup minced red onion
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon ground fennel (I didn’t have any of this)
  • 1 rounded teaspoon dijon mustard
  • salt and ground black pepper to taste

Method:

Bring lentils to a boil with 4 cups of water, bay leaves, garlic and thyme. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes until tender.

While lentils simmer, cover sundried tomatoes in boiling water until softened. Combine diced celery, bell pepper, onion and sundried tomatoes in a bowl. Whisk together olive oil, red wine vinegar, fennel, and Dijon and set aside.

When lentils are done, drain and remove bay leaves. Mash garlic cloves and return to lentils and stir. Combine with vegetables, and toss with dressing. Serve a bed of greens with sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, and top with feta and/or olives.

I only topped mine with feta and only had a beautiful heirloom tomato so that’s what I served it with. In order to make it vegan, olives would be a nice salty addition. I can imagine that hummus and pita would be a good accompaniment to this salad as well. We ate it warm last night, but today it was delicious cold in a tortilla with some hummus. I think I actually liked it better cold!

We also enjoyed a glass of wine. I bought this $8 bottle because the sign said I’d be surprised about how good it tasted and they were right! It was delicious.

Good?

Yup!

The cats tried to get in on the delicious dinner as well:

They love to sleep on the table! For the most part, they are pretty good about staying down when we are eating, but we are having to train them a bit more!

Another fun meal coming tonight and a post about my favorite chocolate maker in the whole world coming soon!

5 responses to “Mediterranean Lentil Salad

  1. Sounds like a great recipe that I will try. However, I will leave out the wine!

  2. Cmon mom, live a little! 😉 Just kidding!

  3. Mmmm, I am making this next week. With homemade hummus. My mouth is watering.

  4. do you have a hummus recipe? I have one but it’s not the best.

  5. I have been winging it. I will make some and write down what went in it…the last time I used some roasted red pepper and it was so good that I was eating it out of the food processor with a spoon. A big spoon.

Leave a Reply

