Ginger Cookies and Banana Soft Serve

In perusing the food blog world, I have come back with two new recipes: overnight oats and banana soft serve. Overnight oats are tasty and satisfying – I mostly prefer them for their convenience to making regular oats in the morning. In other words, I like them but they didn’t rock my world.

Banana soft serve on the other hand has completely and radically changed my view of dessert.

Let me give a little history on my relationship with bananas. I love them. I find them delicious and nutritious. However, I pretty much stopped buying them cold turkey about a year ago because they’re not local. Rainbow Grocery by where I live does offer organic and fair trade bananas, but I still felt a little icky about buying them .

Then I discovered this:

After I had banana soft serve the first time, I haven’t been able to stop buying bananas. A close friend that went to Burning Man with me left me an entire bunch of organic bananas that somehow survived dessert heat but weren’t going to last another day in my kitchen. I chopped them up and into the freezer they went. I can’t get enough. It’s great layered with overnight oats, and particularly good over lemon poppy seed cake. I also had a bit of it today with some PB for a pre-run snack and it was perfect. Next I will figure out how to incorporate it into dinner and lunch and we’ll have all meals covered.

Currently, I’m enjoying it with a bit of peanut butter and two crumbled Newman’s Own Ginger-Os. Normally I don’t have snacks like this in the house, but it too was a Burning Man leftover and I figured I better use them up! (And if using them up means more tasty deliciousness for me, then so be it).

So here is the radical and revolutionary recipe for Banana Soft Serve:

Ingredients
1 banana, chopped and frozen
Peanut butter (optional)
Other toppings as desired

Method: Put chopped frozen banana in food processor. Blend until light and creamy. Add peanut butter if using, blend 15 seconds more. Add toppings. Shove in mouth and wonder how fruit could ever taste so much like ice cream.

Alex loves it too! We’re also happy to discover a homemade creamy frozen dessert that doesn’t make our stomachs act up.

Going out to dinner with new friends tonight! As they are new friends, I am not bringing the camera, but hopefully I’ll have something yummy to report on tomorrow!

PS Just because I discovered this does not mean I’ve abandoned regular ice cream, gelato, cakes, cookies, brownies and all other things dessert related. I’m ADDING it to my repertoire of desserts. 😉

One response to “Ginger Cookies and Banana Soft Serve

  1. That soft serve is amazing. Best thing ever… just like you!

Leave a Reply

