Now entering the blogosphere…

Well here I am. I’ve been contemplating entering the blogosphere for a while, and despite the fact that my life is a whirlwind of crazy right now, it seems like the right time to start.

I love food – cooking it, eating it, and talking about it. Food in all its glory will be the focus of this blog.

Let me start off by saying that I’m a vegetarian. My full-fledged switch to vegetarianism is fairly recent – 8 months or so. Prior to that, I was 90% vegetarian for a year or two. My wonderful boyfriend of almost 5 years has been a vegetarian since he was 8, and I am far too lazy to cook two meals for dinner. I’d love to say I came to vegetarianism for health, economic, sustainability, or humane reasons, but frankly, it started because of my unwillingness to spend the time creating two meal plans when vegetarian food was hearty, healthy and delicious.

Having said that, I have always been an advocate for the humane treatment of animals and those issues, along with health and sustainability, did surface shortly after I began exploring my relationship to food.

As I explored, I found a lot of information! I will post about my resources as time goes on. But it brings me to one of my main tenets:

I don’t judge anyone for his or her food choices.

Going vegetarian was a slow process for me – one that took a lot of thought. Even when I was eating 99% vegetarian, to make that final commitment and say it out loud that I was a vegetarian took a few months. I know others who have just jumped into it because that’s what’s worked for them. Everyone is different.

My main concern is that people think about where their food comes from – including meat, fruits, vegetables, dairy and grains. Vegetarians that eat all packaged food from a plant 2000 miles away or fruit covered in pesticides from halfway around the world are not doing themselves or the planet any favors.  In that case, a meat eater who eats locally raised, grass fed, pastured beef is probably healthier and making a more sustainable choice.

It’s easy for an individual on either side to get on a high horse, but I prefer to stay on the ground and listen and offer my thoughts and advice.

There are so many factors when making food choices: sustainability, human rights, animal treatment, health, politics, money…..not to mention you want your food to taste good.

My goal on this blog is to explore these issues, offer up what I eat and why, share recipes and hear from the blog community about why they make the choices they make. I am constantly learning new things and doing research, so I always want to hear your thoughts!

I am looking forward to sharing my my food journey as well as my life as it goes through some upheaval!

Until next time….

2 responses to “Now entering the blogosphere…

  1. Derek is going to be jealous that you aren’t posting on his site as well 🙂

  2. Yay! I can’t wait to read more. Congratulations on the launch!

Leave a Reply

