Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice

After such a mellow and relaxing weekend at home, it wasn’t easy to jump back into the grind. (At this point, I have to mention that the “K” key on my keyboard is broken and requires pushing harder than average. The letter “K” is in more things than you’d think.)

The cats sure were happy to have us home though:

Snuggling on the couch

Investigating the snowboard

I was happy to see them too! I forget how much I miss their cuddly love when I am away. Christmas will be even harder with being gone 10 days, but they will be in good hands.

I also got back to cooking this week. Life has been hectic and we’ve been eating out a lot and relying on frozen leftovers/hastily thrown together meals. My least favorite part about that is the lack of fresh produce in my diet during those weeks. So this week is heavy on fresh fruit and veg and low on the carbs.

Tonight I made Angela’s Cinnamon Spice Sweet Potato Chickpea Salad.

It was flippin’ amazing. I have never used coconut oil and I am now in love with it.

Ingredients
(for 2 – 4 servings)

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 cups chickpeas
  • 1 tsp. salt

Method
Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. Cube sweet potatoes. Chop onion. Toss sweet potatoes,  onion, and chickpeas with 1 tbsp coconut oil and 1 tsp salt. Spread onto baking sheet with parchment paper and bake 35 Р40 minutes. When done baking, put in large bowl and mix in remainder of the coconut oil. Season with more salt as desired.

I served with steamed broccoli. It won approval.

Yum!

Squash and more chickpeas on the menu later this week. Tomorrow, I will experiment with fake bacon! Delicious!

One response to “Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice

  1. Every time I go to the store I “almost” buy coconut oil….but I always back out! I think I just need to buy some!

Leave a Reply

